Persian Kebabs

DSC_1034

A few days ago, I had a deep craving for some kebabs. So, I decided to make some. I looked up a recipe and it called for saffron, which I recall being a very expensive spice.

AND IT IS TRUE! I had paid $22 for 0.06 oz, meaning this spice goes up to around $300/oz! WOW. I had to take a picture, I was excited.

DSC_1024

The ingredients included Greek yogurt, cubed chicken breasts, onions, garlic powder, salt and pepper. I combined the ingredients in one bowl, and let it sit overnight. I also mixed the meat every once in a while, to get the juices flowin, nice and evenly.

DSC_1030

Next, I made the Saffron-lemon butter mixture, to baste the meat when it was grilling. DSC_1022

Now, grilling the meat in the ice cold temperatures, with snow on the ground. It was so COLD outside!!! But, nothing stops me and food.

DSC_1025

Here is the final entree! Accompanied with a steamed, then grilled tomato, bay leaf jasmine rice, and my mother to enjoy the meal. 🙂

DSC_1034DSC_1035

Leave a Reply

