A Sweet Treat for our Canine Friends!

 DSC_0629The first time my family and I welcomed a cute puppy into our home was probably in 2006. The decision to get a puppy was very abrupt and last minute.

I remember being only 13 years old, and my mom called my dad asking if we wanted a puppy, since her coworker had some at work. Ofcourse we yelled, “YESSSSSSSSSSS“.

She was a beautiful Labrador Retriever and we named her Coco Chanel, I know, she was couture. But of course, we had no idea how to take care of a dog. We turreted her to the owner 3 days after her arrival. 😦

The next time we gave another chance to  owning a puppy was in 2009, and I was about 15 years old. And as you can tell from the pictures, she is a keeper. In fact, she actually chose us. When we were first playing with puppies, like actually newborn puppies, she peed on my brothers hand, gross. We didn’t want to bring her home, but she was the only female left in the litter. Just our luck! And we named that fury little creature Nala.

While it is not my dog’s birthday, I thought I would say something nice about my cute doggy while blogging about some tasty pupcakes for another fury friend.

DSC_0625Trying to take a still picture of Nala with the pupcake.

DSC_0626Then she decided to attack!! Crazy dog.

And for those new to pupcakes, I will explain:

What are pupcakes?

They are basically dog, cupcakes!

How are pupcakes different than cupcakes?

They are surprisingly much healthier than human cupcakes. No refined sugars, gluten free, and whole what. In fact, we should learn something from them. . .

DSC_0630   Ingredients are so simple!

  • whole wheat flour
  • apple sauce (had to make homemade because I was too lazy to go to the store)
  • honey
  • vegetable oil
  • egg
  • baking powder

The frosting is just Greek Yogurt mixed with some peanut butter!

DSC_0624

And my taste tester:

DSC_0632DSC_0634She enjoyed the pupcakes so much, she was whining for more!!

Leave a Reply

